New Parliament Building boycott unites the Opposition

New Parliament Building boycott unites the Opposition as the mega opening might have zero representation from the Opposition parties. The development comes shortly after the meeting between Nitish Kumar and the AICC President Mallikarjun Kharge along with Rahul Gandhi.  Although the impact of the move is yet to be ascertained, it is otherwise clear that the BJP would face a tough challenge in the upcoming Parliamentary Elections next year.

New Parliament Building
Image Source Google

New Parliament Building Inauguration Boycott

Opposition parties like Congress, AAP, TMC, DMK, RJD, JD(U) and NCP have decided o boycott the inauguration of the New Parliament Building which is slated to happen on Sunday 28th May 2023. Parties like the Samajwadi party and the Uddhav Thackeray faction of the Shiv Sena are also rumored to join the boycott as well as per the latest news and media reports.

The boycott has been declared on the grounds that the building will be inaugurated by PM Modi instead of President Draupadi Murmu. The opposition leaders asserted that the PM is looking for a publicity stunt before the General Elections next year and hence he has decided to be the person to inaugurate instead of the constitutional head of the country, The President.

“Prime Minister Modi’s decision to inaugurate the new parliament building by himself, completely sidelining President Murmu, is not only a grave insult but a direct assault on our democracy… This undignified act insults the high office of the President and violates the letter and spirit of the Constitution. It undermines the spirit of inclusion which saw the nation celebrate its first woman Adivasi President,” the opposition parties said in a joint statement.

Opposition Parties unite against the ruling party before the elections

The recent victory of the Congress in the Karnataka State Elections has somewhat fuelled those in opposition parties with the hope that after all the BJP is no longer invincible. After the meeting of the AICC President with Nitish Kumar, the Trinamool Congress Chief held a press conference in Kolkata yesterday with AAP supremo Arvind Kejriwal and Punjab CM Bhagwat Mann raising the voice for the opposition to unite under a single banner to defeat the BJP.

Home Minister Amit Shah refused to comment on the backlash of the Opposition parties when asked about the boycott in a press conference. However, he brought up the fact that in 1975, the Parliament Annex building was also inaugurated by the then PM, Indira Gandhi.


Suggested News Topic

Nitish Kumar and Kharge meet to unify the Opposition